Executive Management

The Southern DHB's Executive Management Team consists of executive managers based in Otago and Southland. 



Chris Fleming 2

Chris Fleming

Lexie O'Shea

Lexie O'Shea
Chief Operating Officer

Professor Barry Taylor
Dean, Dunedin School of Medicine
(From January 2014)

Nicola Mutch
Executive Director of Strategic Communication


Ian Macara
Chief Executive
Southern Primary Health Organisation

Pania Coote
Kaiwhakahaere Hauora Māori
(Executive Director, Māori Health)

Dr Jim Reid
Primary Care Advisor

Nigel Millar
Chief Medical Officer

Leanne Samuel

Leanne Samuel
Executive Director, Nursing & Midwifery

Sandra Boardman
Executive Director, Planning and Funding 


Clive Smith
Chief Financial Officer


Mike Collins

Mike Collins
Executive Director - Organisational Development & Performance

Lynda McCutcheon

Lynda McCutcheon
Executive Director, Allied Health, Scientific & Technical





Chief Executive Expenses and Gifts

The State Services Commission has requested that CEs of all statutory crown entities (including DHBs) voluntarily disclose all expenses and gifts in the hopes that this will enhance public trust through open disclosure of expenditure.

  • To view the Southern DHB Chief Executive's Expenses click on the required date below (will open a new window)