Tertiary Providers

Tertiary Providers

tertiary study 

Please visit the following Otago Southland tertiary provider websites for in-depth information, including course information, research areas and course fees. 

University of Otago

Dunedin City

As New Zealand's first university, founded in 1869, the University of Otago has earned an international reputation for the quality of its research and teaching. It is New Zealand's top-ranked University for research and offers a broad curriculum across the Division of Humanities departments, Division of Sciences departments, Division of Health Sciences departments and School of Business departments.  

From a health perspective, the Division of Health Sciences includes:
Faculty of Dentistry (NZ's only Faculty and School of Dentistry)
Faculty of Medicine (including the Dunedin School of Medicine)
School of Physiotherapy
School of Pharmacy
Medical Laboratory Science
Otago School of Medical Sciences

Southern Institute of Technology

Invercargill City (Zero-fees scheme)

The Southern Institute of Technology (SIT) is home to the "zero-fees" scheme and offers degree, diploma and certificate programmes, as well as SIT2LRN distance learning, vocational preparation and personal development courses. The Zero Fee Scheme is available to New Zealand citizens and permanent residents to study without incurring tuition fees.

From a health perspective, the SIT includes the School of Nursing and School of Social Services

Otago Polytechnic

Dunedin City

Otago Polytechnic offers a range of degree, diploma and certificate programmes.

From a health perspective, the Otago Polytechnic includes Schools of Nursing, Midwifery, Occupational Therapy and Social Services.